The Monday Pet Loss Candle Ceremony

I found this on the www.PetLoss.com website.   They are also on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Pet-Loss-Grief-Support-Petlosscom I have found this site to be very helpful to me.  Just reading other’s stories and participating in the Monday night candle ceremony has been very therapeutic.

So basically, on Monday evenings all across the globe we light candles in memory of our pets. It is a very healing ritual with no adherence to any religion or creed, just a simple lighting of candles to bring us all together.  There is an on-line Ceremony in their Chat Room every Monday, but most, like myself, chose to do this offline.   Each of us can light our candles in our own way, and privately, but since we share a common love and since most of us do light them at the same time, we are joined in love and in spirit.  

Candle lighting times are…
In USA:
10 PM Eastern
9 PM Central
8 PM Mountain
7 PM Pacific
6 PM Alaska
5 PM Hawaii

Here is a copy of the ceremony.  While I don’t really follow the actual ceremony, it is a very beautiful and if you have lost a pet that you loved and miss dearly, read over it and if you get a chance, light a candle on Monday night in their memory.

WE GATHER TOGETHER TO HONOR AND REMEMBER OUR PETS

Tonight, Monday, we join hands, hearts and souls across the land as one large extended family to pray for our sick and dying pets and to pay tribute to our furbabies who have gone ahead to Rainbow Bridge.
Someday, we will meet them again, with hugs, tears and kisses, as we walk together, in eternity, to our new home.
Until that blessed day, we honor these precious souls and remember them with the warm glow of flickering candles, sending a message of love, light and healing, and the faith to believe in miracles.

PRAYER: God, Creator of all living things, we ask that as we light our candles, the healing warmth of love will flow into the brokenhearted who are tending their ailing pets.
Give to them Your strength and comfort.
We also pray that the soft glow of light will part the clouds of grief and sorrow to surround our furbabies at the Bridge.

May excitement REIGN SUPREME as wagging tails, ecstatic purrs and flapping feathers feel our gentle touch once again.
May they know the gratitude we hold in our hearts for their faithfulness and gift of unconditional love as they are forever remembered.
We are temporarily separated for only a short while.
The silver cord that connects us through time and space can never be broken.

AMEN.

candle

I will not look back for there is sorrow.
I will not look for today for there is longing.
I will look forward for there is OUR tomorrow. . Anything you wish to say.FURBABYCANDLE 1: PERSONAL

candle CANDLE 2: FURBABIES OF FRIENDS AND FAMILY

Read the names of those who are ill or have gone on before us as a tribute to them and their loving parents.
As we all meet here, our bridgekids  will be meeting all newcomers, easing their way.

candle CANDLE 3: FOR ACKNOWLEDGMENT AND PEACE

In honor of all the homeless, forgotten, abandoned, abused animals.
For the nameless furchildren who gave their lives for others, for research and as a result of humankind’s inhumanity.
May the Higher Powers that be forgive the cruelty.
We light this candle for them.
As our lights shine brightly through the galaxy, may the angels smile upon us, and know that for a brief moment, we have put aside worldly differences to bond as ONE.

CLOSING:
I have sent you on a journey to a land free from pain, not because I did not love you, but because I loved you too much to force you to stay.

MOMENT OF SILENCE.

“Blessed are they that mourn, for they will be comforted.”

Love, light and healing to all. Amen.

The candles being lit tonight;
Cast a soft and welcome flame.
And draw our loved ones to the light,
As we call to them by name.
Imagine spirits taking flight,
For a moment our souls entwine.
Say not Good Night, but in some
Brighter Time
Bid them all-
Good Morning.

Advertisements

About Gina Coleman

My goal in life is to be as good of a person my dog already thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s